Tags

Coffee time is usually equated with that 15 minute break that you have in the morning during work hours, where you can run out and grab a coffee and a bite to eat, or go for a walk, or take out a book to read (or whatever else millions of people do during this “free” time).

Coffee time for me is now equated with “time to sit down” or breakfast time with the kids.  My 2.5 year old loves to help me make my coffee in the morning.  She will see me boil the water and measure out the coffee grounds into the French press, and she will ask to help.  I always have to remind her that she needs to wait and of course she can help.  And when everything is ready and the hot water and coffee grounds have intermingled for a minute or two, I bring the French press over to her, and she puts her hand on the little knob and pushes down to compress the coffee grounds.  When she has pressed down as far as she can go, a “Yaaaaay!” shoots from her mouth, followed with little bursts of clapping.  And I of course, “YAAAAAY” right along and clap with her, followed with a big “Thank you!  You make the best coffee!”

And when I say that, I’m not lying.  Because she does make the best coffee.  Not only does the coffee taste good, but its made with love, by one of the biggest loves of my life.

Now THAT is a good coffee break.

—–

By the way….is it coffee grounds or coffee grinds????